New Programmer

Started by dday9, August 06, 2015, 04:37:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dday9

Hello OverPower community,

My name is dday9 and the reason why I joined is because I was hired to create a new version of the OverPower Online game. Personally, I have never played OverPower, it came out a little before my time. However, I am a very solid programmer and I enjoy redoing old games like this. My biggest issue though, is I do not know the game. The man who has hired me said that he create me a step-by-step guide to the game, but that has been a few months ago and I would really like to finish this project.

So where would I go to find a step-by-step process of this game? Remember, computers are very literal, so if I tell the program to do something, than it will. So I need to basically know all the rules and all the exceptions to the rules.

Sincerely,
dday9

dday9

Is this forum still active? It's been 5 days since I posted this thread an no response, not trying to dog the site, just trying to get an idea of the activity here.

Skeletaur

There was a tournament this weekend, so a lot of the active posters were away this weekend.

I think you can get a great summary of the rules and all information you would need at http://overpower.ca/

BlueFire

Yup to the above.

Under the pages tab click on rules.

justa

all of the board have been fairly slow for the last 4 months - its not just this week....

i don't think the rules were too much the problem with OPonline.  the biggest problems i remember were:

1) IP dependent connection.  with my router, i could only play someone in the house unless i strung a 50 ft ethernet cable to the modem, bypassing the router, which prevented anyone else in the house from internet access.

2) frequent crashes.  one wrong step & BOOM - there it goes.

3) playing non-attack cards.  there must be a better way.