Author Topic: Cards "in play"  (Read 2533 times)

DiceK

  • Busy Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Cards "in play"
« on: February 24, 2012, 12:00:31 PM »
Are cards that are placed on a character consider to be "in play"?

mattkoz

  • Busy Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Re: Cards "in play"
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2012, 12:19:18 PM »
Hmm, I wouldn't think so. Are you referring to a specific special's text?

"In play" to me means special cards that are hits on the current/permanent record on any character and any altering effects that have been played and are laid down next to characters.

I think that's what's very specific about Power Mimic (it says "currently on the table" which I interpret as "in play or placed")

Can someone confirm my take? I'm not a rules expert.

Jack

  • Ultra Poster
  • ********
  • Posts: 1917
  • Web-Headed Wizard of OverPower.ca
    • View Profile
    • OverPower
Re: Cards "in play"
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2012, 01:43:16 PM »
Quote from: Meta #42
Meta #42: Cards which are "in play" are those cards which are: (a) on a Character's Permanent Record, (b) on a Character's Hits from Current Battle, (c) played by a Character to create some effect and has not yet been discarded.

Coincidentally:
Quote from: Meta #85
Meta #85: The phrase "on the table" refers to any card which is (a) in play (b) placed to any Character (c) in a Character's Permanent Record or (d) in a Character's Hits From Current Battle

DiceK

  • Busy Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
    • View Profile
Re: Cards "in play"
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2012, 05:20:23 PM »
I'm more concerned about what "in play" constitutes.

mattkoz

  • Busy Poster
  • ****
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
Re: Cards "in play"
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2012, 06:30:46 PM »
Quote from: Meta #42
Meta #42: Cards which are "in play" are those cards which are: (a) on a Character's Permanent Record, (b) on a Character's Hits from Current Battle, (c) played by a Character to create some effect and has not yet been discarded.

Coincidentally:
Quote from: Meta #85
Meta #85: The phrase "on the table" refers to any card which is (a) in play (b) placed to any Character (c) in a Character's Permanent Record or (d) in a Character's Hits From Current Battle
Hey, it looks like I got one right for once.   ;D

steve2275

  • Ultra Poster
  • ********
  • Posts: 1385
    • View Profile
    • my twitter
Re: Cards "in play"
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2012, 10:53:53 AM »
what a bout nj specials vs cw specials?
after cw was played

Demacus

  • Super Poster
  • ******
  • Posts: 739
    • View Profile
Re: Cards "in play"
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2012, 03:07:44 PM »
Based on the NJ's wording, I would say that Taskmaster could slip past X-Man's CW, provided the CW was used to defend an earlier attack, and not used to defend the NJ.

steve2275

  • Ultra Poster
  • ********
  • Posts: 1385
    • View Profile
    • my twitter
Re: Cards "in play"
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2012, 10:19:10 AM »
Based on the NJ's wording, I would say that Taskmaster could slip past X-Man's CW, provided the CW was used to defend an earlier attack, and not used to defend the NJ.
my point xactly