Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - breadmaster

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11
1
Events / maximum carnage: no opd's event
« on: March 15, 2016, 07:58:42 PM »
if player A gets this event, does that prevent player B from using their event the same battle?

2
here's a team celebrating some daughters of overpower (could also but in huntress and goblyn queen, if you want to stretch the definition)

scarlet witch
polaris
spider-girl
phoenix

only problem is...who do you put in reserve!?!...they all have great team-wide defensive specials

3
General Discussion / splitting power cards
« on: June 01, 2015, 08:18:27 PM »
it's a good idea to split your low power cards among different icons so in case you dupe, you can keep the one that best suits the current situation (teamwork follows, spectrum hits).  it's virtually a must to split your larger ones when you run characters that have different main icons.

the problem I find, is that i'll often keep duplicates.  this happens when one is placed and one in hand, but I've even done it before with 2 of the same value in hand!

anyone have any tips for this.  it seems just a matter of slowing down and being careful, but I repeatedly make this mistake

4
Deck Construction / best 3 stat deck
« on: April 28, 2015, 12:14:48 AM »
using current deck building, but no cards that came out after mission control, what kind of teams do you think would work best

as I went through, nightrcrawler has the only AD that can protect himself and teammates (6 or less), and beast/witch are the only characters with negates.  (morbius also has one, but most specials from this era worth playing are numerical attacks)

the team I came up with was:

nightcrawler
beast
hulk
thing (reserve)

you could switch out witch for beast, and get the AI, but lose the big 9e opd. 

the thing I noticed, was it was VERY hard to get to 51 cards.  I had to bend my usual deckbuilding, and go with doubles of most tws, triples of power cards, and even double up on some weaker attack specials.  the defense is also VERY power card depandant

what other good decks are there?

5
Homebases / falls edge inherent
« on: April 03, 2015, 12:49:46 AM »
All of Opponent's Universe: Teamwork Card attacks are -1

I took this to mean that the initial attack, as well as any follow ups are -1.  I've been told that it just applies to the initial 6 (ie the first attack is 5 to block) and all the other bonuses stay in tact

if they left off 'all of' I could easily see that being the case.  and if they included 'attacks WITH universe...' it would mean all 3

I guess my lean is towards just the initial attack; what say y'all?

6
General Discussion / FFP un-errata'd
« on: March 19, 2015, 08:55:11 PM »
do you think this is the most powerful team that was once legal? 

having never played back then, I was told that it was changed rather quickly to 'shift must be defended' and then again to 'defended with power card'.  the biggest drawback seems to be the lack of a negate on the team, but the fact it should take about 10 landed hits (and possibly many more!) before a ko occurs is huge.

marauders/xbabies is the other biggie, but it has to play a card to get the shift, and risks duping while not getting the shift every round.

7
General Discussion / irish characters
« on: March 18, 2015, 08:05:08 PM »
any other besides banshee?

or do I have to fill out my team with hulks

8
General Discussion / max beyonder
« on: February 08, 2015, 09:11:06 PM »
with the beyonder discussion going on, I was thinking about the best way to max out his stats.  I came up with:

prof x
doc Samson (3)
black widow (3)
beyonder, 8/7/7/7 grid

this gets you 29 out of a possible 32 points.  it also has some decent specials, but lacks a negate

anyone else got some high end ideas?

9
General Discussion / something i've always wondered about IQ
« on: November 04, 2014, 12:15:18 AM »
this is a longshot, but this board has surprised me before, so here goes!

I was putting away my decks from the tournament, and was looking through the binders.  as we know, most 3 stat characters got 2 specials in the IQ set.  13 characters only got 1 special.  I was wondering if anyone had any insight into why

the characters were

thing
war machine
*rhino
*doc ock
silver surfer
---
captain America
hulk
cable
---
banshee
blob
iceman
juggernaut
*scarlet spider

some observations

-the 3 with asterisks got a hillshire farm card.  they are the only ones from the list that didn't get a monumental special

-they are split pretty evenly throughout starters, boosters, and power surge.  all 10 mission control characters got 2

-if we split them roughly into 4 groups (xmen/spiderman/ff/avengers), we get 5/3/2/3.  nothing too shocking here, as there was an abundance of mutants as x-men was really popular at the time

captain America and hulk stick out to me.  I realize that both were less popular in the 90s, but they were still iconic characters.  the rest are borderline, with thing/juggernaut/surfer being slightly more recognizable

so...I'm stumped.  was it simply that the set was getting too big, and some cuts had to be made?

10
Special Codes / dueling LXs
« on: September 14, 2014, 07:59:42 PM »
LX: For remainder of game, if Opponent draws cards during battle, Tiffany may draw an equal number from Draw Pile. Tiffany must show drawn cards. May not keep duplicates.

a game came up where both players had this out.  opponent played an LO, and drew a card.  I responded by matching the draw, and then opponent drew 1 more to match me.

going by the letter of the card, it seems we could have drawn our entire draw piles and power packs, discarding duplicates.  that didn't seem reasonable, so we stopped there. there seems to be 3 options

-should we have drawn everything?
-does the drawing occur simulataneously, and we each should only draw 1?  1 for his LO, 1 for my LX
-should we have done what we decided?  1 for his LO, 1 for my LX, and 1 for his LX

11
Specific Cards / morph's substitute death and BM (heh...)
« on: September 13, 2014, 10:23:30 PM »
BM: Acts as a level 7 Energy attack, if successful target opponent may not attack for remainder of battle (BM)

HP: Play in current battle, after one teammate is KO'd. Immediately exchange KO'd teammate and Morph. Discard all Placed cards. All Hits remain. (HP)

this one came up in a game.  I KO beyonder with psylocke's 7e BM.  opponent then plays substitute death to revive beyonder. 

the 7e is no longer a 'hit' on the revived beyonder, but does the 'may not attack' stipulation remain?  beyonder was still the 'target opponent', even though the card is still in play, but no longer on him

also, I just saw the stipulation that 'all hits remain' at the end of the HP.  this is usually taken to mean all hits on morph transfer to the revived character.  if the character was KOd in the same round, would those hits stay too!?!...I'm guessing no

so...attack, or no attack?

12
Specific Cards / more about new universe (EN)
« on: July 03, 2014, 11:20:32 PM »
Play to concede battle.  All Mission cards Ventured this battle return to piles Ventured from.  May be Placed.  Counts as a duplicate of all "Any Hero/Character" EN Specials.

1) I've been told you cannot pass with this special in hand, since it's an attack as defined by meta rule #5.  however, EN isn't linked to meta 5 (in fact, it doesn't appear to be linked to any metas).  do we go with common sense, and obey meta 5, or ignore it?

2) the errata is that you cannot play this card if you venture more than 2 missions.  would you be allowed to keep it in hand, and then venture more than 2 to avoid having to play it?  that would seem to contradict the previous point.  if it's an attack, you MUST play it, if you venture more than 2, you CANNOT play it. 

would the rule be, that if you can't place it, you can't venture more than 2?  could you venture more than 2, keep it in hand, and hope to force a concede out of your opponent?

13
Special Codes / CQ, cap's 'inspiration'
« on: May 28, 2014, 01:33:30 AM »
'All Captain America Special cards are doubled when determining Venture total this battle.'

suppose I play one of these from a character on the team, and a second from the battlesite.  would I also double the first CQ played?

so if I landed cap's 7i, would it count for:

14 venture (the CQs are redundant)
21 venture (7 for the special, and 7 more for each CQ)
42 venture (7 for the special, 7 for the second CQ, 28 off the first CQ boosted by the second {7X4})

that's a lot of venture!

EDIT:

I guess the 3rd one should be only 35 venture, as I counted the special twice in the 28.  so:

35 venture (7 for the special, 7 for the second CQ, 21 off the first CQ boosted by the second {7X4-the original 7})

14
Specific Cards / EB and AI questions. AV as well
« on: April 12, 2014, 10:09:13 PM »
EB: Play during battle. For remainder of game, any attack made on Beast's team may be moved to Stars & Garters. Beast's team may not defend. Stars & Garters is discarded after 1 Hit.

AI: Target hero must discard 1 Placed card of Iceman's choice.

AV: Target character may not attack for remainder of battle.

can AVs be sent to the EB?

can AIs?

and a bonus question.  since iceman must declare which special he wants discarded, can these attacks still be shifted?  the way we usually play is that you can shift, and iceman chooses a new card placed to the new target, but is this correct?

15
General Comic Discussion / uncanny xforce
« on: April 12, 2014, 10:01:16 PM »
I don't recall who recommended this to me, but thanks to whoever it was

picked up the omnibus, and this was my first x-comic in years.  it was quite good!

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 11