Making basic universe, training, and tactic cards useful

Started by Nostalgic, February 19, 2010, 02:21:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nostalgic

What's up guys. I see there is light traffic here, but its cool to see some are 'keeping it alive'.  When I started playing back in 95, I was in the 8th grade, and really only had one other friend who was into the game.  We decided to 'call' for all the characters we knew of at the time, like you call for your team in a pick-up basket ball game and gave each other the cards for our chosen characters as we bought packs individually.  So if I bought 5 boosters and had sabertooth and bishop cards I'd give them to him, and if he bought some packs he gave me which ever characters I had called for initially.   We mostly played throughout high school and some college, and after that very infrequently, but its always a blast when we do play.  We never went to tournaments, but had a ball bashing each other all the same. 

As I've gone online recently and learned about the tournament scene and the 'real' strategy behind the game (as it relates to not taking universe/tactic cards for card advantage) I must admit saddened me a little.  The whole concept of universe cards was one of the main appeals about the game to me.  Picking up a dumpster and hurling it, but then blocking it with a grenade was great fun for our imaginations back then.

It really bums me that the basic universe, training, and tactic cards are not used due to the discard factors and the concept of card advantage which basically makes any two cards combined to attack or defend less useful.  I understand it perfectly as far as strategy goes now, but I hate having all those cards wasted if you know what I mean.  I remember back in the day we were always trying to figure out how to make the biggest attack possible with universe and special bonuses and what not.  Anyway, my proposed solution to this is the location cards.

Post Merge: July 22, 2011, 04:37:24 PM